top of page

Spooky Spiderweb Brownies


The mother of all sweet Holidays is approaching REAL fast. As a classroom teacher I loved/dreaded Halloween. I loved dressing up as my kids' favorite storybook character and seeing their faces when they walked in the classroom door. I loved seeing their personalities come out through which costumes they chose.

I hated the abundance of candy everywhere. I am not a moderator--I can't have just a little bit of something, which means Halloween is super dangerous for me. I'm not a person who can have one mini peanut butter cup and call it a day. Even if I begin to feel sick, I won't feel satisfied until every last chocolate is gone. So every Halloween I was left with a daily sugar migraine and overall crappy energy levels. Not to mention the all consuming black hole of shame about "having no willpower."

Now that I'm no longer a classroom teacher, I can avoid candy a lot more easily, which is overall GREAT for my health (physical and mental). That said, I still wanted to partake in a little sweetness this time of year, so I created these Spooky Spiderweb Brownies. I used almond butter to give them the fudgey consistency.

To make the spiderwebs, I piped melted coconut manna on to the top of the brownies. I piped three to four concentric circles and then took a toothpick and ran the toothpick through the circles to make the sticky designs. They don't need to be perfect because you're going to rough them up anyway.

They are are a little healthier version of a favorite holiday treat. I hope you make these for your family this weekend while you're carving up your pumpkins.

What You'll Need:

  • 1/4 cup creamy almond butter

  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar

  • 1/3 cup maple syrup

  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil

  • 2 TBSP melted ghee

  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder

  • 1 TBSP pumpkin pie spice

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

  • 1/4 tsp salt

  • 2 eggs

  • 1/2 cup almond flour

  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

  • 2 TBSP coconut manna

What I Did:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease an 8x8 baking pan with your favorite baking spray or oil

  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together almond butter, coconut sugar, maple syrup, coconut oil and ghee until it resembles caramel.

  3. Add cocoa powder, 1/4 cup at a time. Then whisk in vanilla, salt and eggs until all incorporated. Using a rubber spatula, fold in the almond flour and then the chocolate chips.

  4. Pour the batter into the pan and smooth with the rubber spatula.

  5. Bake for 25-35 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

  6. Allow the brownies to cool for about 30 minutes, then melt the coconut manna and put in to a ziploc bag. Cut a tiny hole in the corner of the bag.

  7. Pipe the manna on to the top of the brownies in concentric circles around the tops of the brownies. Use a toothpick to drag the edges of the circles together until you get spiderweb shapes.

  8. Cut the brownies in to 16 pieces! Enjoy!


MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page