top of page

Safer Beauty

I have a confession …

I am a total product junkie. I’ll try just about anything to get clear, radiant skin. I am scarred (literally and figuratively) from years of teenage acne, picking at that acne, and trying to dry out that acne much too rapidly. I got my first whitehead in fourth grade and my mom popped it without really telling me what was happening. She tried to play it cool, but I knew even then it was something to be ashamed of. I have spent years trying to figure out what would get rid of the acne. Spoiler alert: a clean diet helps a lot.

I feel like I was just starting to get a handle on it, and BAM…wrinkles. WTF man. I also started to experience extreme dryness. I tried every natural moisturizing trick in the book: drink more water (y’all I drink A LOT of water), leave your skin alone and let nature take over, don’t leave your skin alone and use more moisturizing oils (like coconut oil), make sure your diet is as healthy as can be (done!), and manage stress. The dryness drove me crazy. Crazy! My face was red, splotchy, flaky (gross), developing more fine lines and wrinkles than ever before, and always felt dry. Makeup may have hidden the spotty skin, but it amplified the dryness.

I started poking around on social media to see what my favorite bloggers were using, and discovered that pretty much all of them were using Beautycounter. And guess what…they all have beautiful skin. And they ALL used to have skin that looked a hell of a lot like mine. I looked at their website and found that the company has managed to find a middle ground between 100% natural and conventional toxic goop, and that (what I really wanted to know) they WORKED.

*If you want to skip my blabbing and just start shopping the Beautycounter product lines, click HERE!

I decided to try one product (the Charcoal Cleansing Bar), to see if it worked for me.

I was hesitant. I’m a hard sell and I was tired (SO tired) of trying products that didn’t work for me and my skin. BUT, I really wanted to move in a more natural direction, so I went for it. I spent about 2 months testing that one product, and then ultimately falling in love with it. As a result, I began to transition my products, one by one, to Beautycounter products. Ran out of foundation, bought Tint Skin. Ran out of lotion, bought Nourishing Day Cream. Ran out of toner, bought Rosewater Mist.

Now that I’ve got a few more months under my belt, I’m here to say that my skin is looking great (it healed within a couple weeks, actually) and I did it without jumping back into the world of conventional cosmetic toxic goop. I did it by using products designed by a company who cares about women and their families. While their products aren’t 100% natural, they do forbid the most awful of the commonly used toxic ingredients. Check out their Never List (which includes some of the 1500+ ingredients that you’ll NEVER find in their products), including: Parabens, Phthalates, and Formaldehyde.

Another important thing to note: I do still use beauty products OTHER than Beautycounter! I’m still in the process of switching over my products. To me, even one healthier choice at a time is enough.

Beautycounter offers products from makeup, skincare, anti-aging, bath, hair, body, and baby that WORK like conventional products, but are SAFER than their mainstream cosmetic counterparts. These products are just what I needed. My skin looks better than ever and, because they’re free from the most abhorrent toxic chemicals, I feel GOOD about using them. So good, in fact, that I decided to join the company as a consultant! What does this mean? It means 2 things:

  1. I believe so much in these products, that I’ve dedicated myself to sharing them with you!

  2. If you purchase any Beautycounter products through one of the links on this page, I officially become your not-going-to-bug-you, go-to gal for all your questions, concerns, and new product alerts.

A note to bloggers or those of you who want to become involved with Beautycounter: I’m here to help! If you have any questions or would like to get more involved in this growing company, I’m your girl. Just shoot an email to talktoteacheatrepeat@gmail.com so we can put our heads together!

Now, let’s get into some product reviews! To keep my recommendations authentic, I will ONLY recommend products on this page that I wholeheartedly loved. For more information about my beauty routine (AM, PM, hair, makeup, body, etc.), keep your eyes peeled on my homepage. I’ve got those articles coming in the near future!

I hope you find this list helpful and PLEASE feel free to email with your questions! My email: talktoteacheatrepeat@gmail.com

If you’d like to just peruse the Beautycounter website, you can click HERE for their homepage.

Current Cleanser Favorites:

  • Nourishing Cream Cleanser- I love to use this cream cleanser on my face in the morning. It goes on smooth, leaves my skin feeling supple, and washes off easily.

  • Charcoal Cleansing Bar- I use this bar as my facewash in the shower and when I travel. TSA can’t take it away because it’s not a liquid and I love knowing I have a really effective cleanser even while on the road. After using the bar for two weeks, the blackheads on my nose were much less noticeable.

Current Moisturizer Favorites:

  • Nourishing Day Cream- this is a really light moisturizer that I like to use every morning after I wash my face.

  • Nourishing Night Cream- a little heavier than the day cream, but not too much. love this cream!

  • Nourishing Eye Cream – I love this eye cream. In fact, when I was on the hunt for help with my new fine lines, eye cream was first on my list! This one is wonderfully thick, soothes my puffy eyes.

  • NO1 Brightening Facial Mist- This mist has vitamin C which is helping with a few sun spots I have on my face. It acts as a primer under makeup and can help set your makeup after you put it on!

  • NO3 Balancing Facial Mask- This was my second product and I use it every Sunday without fail. My skin looks brighter, my pores look smaller, and I am much happier after every single time I use this mask.

Current Make Up Favorites:

  • Tint Skin Foundation (I use “Sand”)- THIS FOUNDATION IS THE BOMB! This is a super lightweight foundation that evens out skin tone on a first pass. If you use another layer, it covers blemishes. It is very moisturizing!

  • Volumizing Mascara – to say I was skeptical about this mascara would be an understatement (remember, I’m a HARD sell). I don’t like to mess around with those lashes! It stays on my lashes (not my cheeks) all day. It’s buildable too, so one layer is great for morning, but if I’m going out at night, I’ll add a second layer and it never gets clumpy.

Check out all that Beautycounter has to offer RIGHT HERE and if you’ve tried something that I don’t have listed here, please send me a note! I’d love your recommendations want to continue our healthy, happy, healing conversations in this world of safer cosmetics. I can't wait to share more products with you as I try out more! I'll be updating this list and others as I go!

With Love, Lettuce AND now Lipstick,

Anna

Remember that I’m here to help! If you’re interested in learning more about the products, have specific questions, or are curious about how to join the company, please feel free to send me a direct note via email! (talktoteacheatrepeat@gmail.com)


MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page