top of page

Paleo Pizza Bagels

Sometimes I just want to feel like a kid. Anyone with me? I just want to eat pizza/bagels/chicken nuggets and smother it all in Ranch Dressing. Unfortunately for me, dairy makes me breakout and gluten makes me barf. So like, what's a girl to do? Make your own...duh.

I'm an adult. Which sometimes means I can eat whatever I want. And sometimes that means I have to take care of myself and eat my vegetables. But, what being an adult always means is that I MAKE MY OWN CHOICES. Aint no body going to tell me that I can't eat a pizza bagel whenever I want. I can choose to eat some cheese, if I think the pimples are worth it. I can choose to not exercise or I can choose to eat my greens. It has been a learning process, but I have learned that each of those decisions are independent from each other. Just because I choose ice cream one day, doesn't mean I don't choose spinach the next.

And with that, adults, I give you the Paleo Pizza Bagel. It is the perfect compromise for when one half of you wants the Bagel Bites of ol' and the other half is seriously needing a green smoothie. This recipe requires one special thing...a donut pan (I have this one). The amounts below will make you 6 pizza bagels!

What You'll Need:

  • 3 cups cauliflower, riced

  • 1 TBSP Pizza Seasoning (or 2 tsp each onion powder and Italian Seasoning)

  • 2 eggs

  • 2 TBSP almond flour

  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce

  • 1/2 chopped bell pepper

  • 1/4 chopped onion

  • torn basil

  • 3 oz Italian Sausage, Pepperoni (optional)

  • 3 oz shredded cheese

What I did:

  1. Spray the inside of your donut pan with non-stick spray. Preheat your oven to 375.

  2. Microwave your cauliflower 2 minutes at a time until cooked through. Once it has cooled, squeeze the water out using a clean dish towel.

  3. In a large bowl, combine riced cauliflower, pizza seasoning, eggs and almond flour.

  4. So this is the tricky part. These actually work best if you build them from the bottom up, so you're going to put the cheese in first, then the veggies and sausage. Then, spoon some sauce on top. Very last, spoon some of the cauliflower mixture in to each donut pan. Use your fingers to press the cauliflower into the sides of the pan so it begins to clump together.

  5. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and allow the Pizza Bagels to cool completely. This part is SUPER important. They have to cool down ALLLLLLLLL the way or else they will crumble. Consider putting them in the fridge to cool all the way.

  6. Once they are cooled, use another baking pan and put it on top. CAREFULLY flip the pizza bagels over.

  7. Enjoy with other kiddo foods or slather with some healthy, dairy free Ranch Dressing. Because even as an adult, pizza and Ranch is still an epic combo.

MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page