top of page

Florentine Meatballs

My friend Perry (haaayyy girl) found a recipe for delicious Turkey Meatballs. They had this amazing creme sauce and Parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs--no wonder they were delicious! She sent me her pictures of them and admittedly, they looked great. I wondered if they would be just as good with a few tweaks to make them a bit friendlier to my gut, my skin and my belly. I decided to take a stab at them. I've now used the recipe below 5 times, and it is just as delicious. These are great for meal prep or a big crowd. Serve them with zoodles, Banza chickpea pasta, or break them up and serve them with an egg for breakfast. They have a ton of flavor by themselves, so no pasta sauce necessary!

What You'll Need:

  • 1 lb ground turkey (I like some with a little fat in it for this recipe to add to the flavor)

  • 4 cloves garlic, minced

  • 1 box frozen spinach

  • 1/2 white onion, diced

  • 2 TBSP almond flour

  • 1 egg

  • 1 tsp olive oil, plus more for greasing the pan

  • salt and pepper

What I Did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

  2. First, defrost the spinach in the microwave. Then, squeeze out the water as much as you can.

  3. Saute the onion in the olive oil until translucent, about 5 minutes. Then add the garlic to the pan and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Turn off the heat and let the mixture cool.

  4. In a bowl, combine the spinach, salt and pepper, onion and garlic. Then, add the egg and almond flour. Mix until all is combined.

  5. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Form 12-16 meatballs. Place the meatballs on the baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes. Turn the meatballs over and bake for another 2 minutes.

  6. Remove from heat and allow to cool before handling.

MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page