top of page

Creamy Tomato Soup

A few weeks ago, my husband and I went to Western Massachusetts to visit some old friends. We had a weekend full of hiking, exploring and sugaring planned for the cold, but relatively mild weather we've been having this winter. Much to our chagrin, it turned out to be 5 degrees, feeling like -6 with the wind chill. Change. Of. Plans. Instead of adventuring, we basically decided to eat and drink. One restaurant we went to had this delicious chunky, creamy, spicy tomato soup as a special. (If you've been reading TER for a while you know how my husband feels about soup). He ordered it, he loved it. I agreed to have a bite, and it was so delicious that I had a few more. A few days later I gained a huge pimple on my jawline...this is how my body ALWAYS reacts to too much dairy. It's about to dump a ton of snow in NYC and I, for once, want soup. I decided to recreate this, sans dairy, plus some protein and gut healing bone broth. Take it from my husband, this ones a winner.

What You'll Need:

  • 2 cups bone broth or chicken stock

  • 4 beefsteak or 6 Roma tomatoes

  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes

  • 1 can (14oz) fire roasted tomatoes

  • 1/3 cup full fat coconut milk

  • 1 tsp cayenne

  • 2 tsp olive oil

  • Basil for garnish

What I Did:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil. Slice the tops of your beefsteak tomatoes and discard. Thinly score the skin in an x and place the flat side of the tomatoes in a roasting pan. Pour 3/4 of the cherry tomatoes in the pan. Roast for 40 minutes. Carefully peel the skin off of the tomatoes and discard.

  2. Pour broth in to large saucepan. Add all roasted tomatoes. Add canned tomatoes. Add coconut milk and spices.

  3. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat.

  4. Using an immersion blender, blend all of the ingredients until it is as chunky as you want it.

  5. Allow to come to a boil again, then reduce the heat and simmer for 30-40 minutes. The soup will thicken the longer it boils, so I'd suggest letting it go for as long as you can.

  6. Top with basil, remaining tomatoes and shredded chicken.

MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page