top of page

Sweet Potato Mash with Marshmallow Creme

Happy Thanksgiving, y'all! In our house, my mom has always made classic sweet potatoes with marshmallows on top. I LOVE the mallows. Love them. I, just like some of us out there, I am struggling to find ways to cut my sugar in take. I have an extra day off of work this year, so I decided to try and make my own marshmallows. I can't post the recipe for that part here because I used the recipe in Diane Walker's book Celebrations. It worked beautifully. I did, however, craft some special sweet potatoes for underneath.

What You'll Need:

  • 2 pounds sweet potatoes or yams, wrapped in aluminum foil

  • 4 tablespoons ghee

  • 1/2 cup coconut cream

  • 1/2 cup maple syrup

  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

  • 1½ cups marshmallow cream

  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

What I did:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350°F. Bake the sweet potatoes, wrapped in foil, for about an hour until tender through the middle. Allow them to cool.

  2. Once they are cool, peel the skins and quarter them. Add them to a bowl.

  3. Head the coconut cream, ghee, vanilla extract, cinnamon and maple syrup by your preferred method until melted, but not boiling.

  4. Add the creamy mixture to the potato mixture and mash until your desired consistency. My family likes a little chunky.

  5. Transfer to a baking dish.

  6. Top with marshmallow creme and broil just a bit. Don't forget to watch carefully! The marshmallow expands quickly!


MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page