top of page

It's February! What do I do now?

Hey all. You're so close to being done with your Whole30. February 1 is just around the weekend bend--do you have a plan for what you will do? If you're anything like me, your plan might involve diving headfirst into a plate of brownies/crockpot full of queso/pint(gallon) of Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream. Before you Tazmanian Devil through a bag of Cooler Ranch Doritos, I need you to pause.

It has taken me three Whole30's to finally commit to the reintroduction. This is the first time that a Whole30 hasn't totally emotionally drained me. I am going to eat legumes on the first day, while keeping the rest of my diet Whole30, and see how my body reacts for days 2 and 3. On day 4, I'll try the same pattern with some dairy. Then, on day 7, I'm going to try some non-gluten grains. Pending my body's reaction, I'll make a plan for the rest of February. I'm not ready to say I'm going to make a plan for the rest of my life (because #brownies) but, I'm hoping this time I find a way to manage clean eating with the occasional treat.

What I learned this time is, I'm really not good at moderation. What the heck does that mean anyway? If you eat only 1 treat a day, is that moderation, or is it a habit? I need black and white rules in order to feel successful--but I'm not sure what they're going to be after February 10th yet. I do know my rules will include some wine (because #cabernet).

Point being, if you don't make rules for yourself, how are you going to measure your successes going forward? I'm a big advocate of naming the boundaries (holla Teachers, name the expectations), because witout the boundaries, how will you know when you've been successful? I urge you to think about what you'll do on February 1--they don't have to be my rules, but I really think you should make some.

How will you know when you're successful?

With Love and Lettuce,

Anna and Rachel


Comments


MADE BY ANNA AND RACHEL WITH LOVE AND LETTUCE

bottom of page